darren.chester.mp@aph.gov.au 1300 131 785
Print Friendly, PDF & Email


September 27, 2012

The 2013 ANZAC Awards have opened with Federal Member for Gippsland Darren Chester urging Gippslanders to nominate anyone who has served their community with compassion and dedication.

Established by the Returned & Services League of Australia there are up to seven ANZAC of the Year Awards which may be awarded each year to Australian individuals or groups for service to the community in a positive and selfless manner.

The award recognises the efforts of those who are outstanding even in the pursuit of what might appear to be routine activity.

Mr Chester said any local resident who believes a fellow Gippslander is worthy of the award should nominate them now.

“There are a range of Gippslanders who perform selfless acts and dedicate their time and effort into improving their communities every day,” Mr Chester said.

“Nominating someone for an ANZAC of the Year Award is a small way to recognise their efforts and contribution to the community.”

The awards are normally presented by the State Governors of the individual States in the presence of the State President of the Returned & Services League in that State, and members of the State Executive or Council.

Winners of the awards receive a bronze medallion depicting “Simpson” and his donkey, presented in a specially designed presentation case as well as a certificate outlining the nature of the award, the citation on which the nominee was selected and a bronze miniature lapel badge is also presented for everyday wear.

Anyone seeking details regarding eligibility criteria or other further information should log on to www.rsl.org.au

Pin It on Pinterest