darren.chester.mp@aph.gov.au 1300 131 785
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

A stunning photo of a sunrise at Point Hicks has been selected as the winning image in this year’s Love Gippsland calendar competition.

The competition was run by Federal Member for Gippsland Darren Chester, who invited amateur photographers across the region to submit their favourite photos of where they live, and offer a short message about why the love Gippsland.

Anthony Harrison, of Bairnsdale, won the Open Category for this Point Hicks photo, which takes pride of place on the front page of the calendar.

Thomas Stockdale, of Traralgon, won the Secondary School Age category for his photo of canola fields near Rosedale. Bellamy O’Callaghan, of Traralgon, won the Primary School Age category for her photo of a sunrise at Cape Conran. All three are entitled to an accommodation prize, donated by Bridges on Argyle Traralgon, Captain’s Cove Paynesville and Frog Gully Cottages Longford.

Mr Chester congratulated all entrants who submitted photos for the competition.

“The quality of this year’s entries was again of a very high standard and it was great to see such a wide variety of entries from each corner of the Gippsland region,” Mr Chester said.

“There really is so much to love and be proud about Gippsland. It is fantastic so many people were willing to share their images of what makes our region beautiful.”

The calendars will be sent to small businesses in the Gippsland electorate this month.

Mr Chester encouraged locals to continue sharing their favourite photos of Gippsland on social media, using the hashtag #lovegippsland to promote tourism and pride in the region.

Free copies of the calendars are available at Mr Chester’s Sale and Traralgon electorate offices, or by calling 1300 131 785.

The top 13 photo entrants were:

Front cover: Anthony Harrison, Bairnsdale
January: Lex Porebski, Albany WA
February: Tom Kelly, Rosedale
March: Bellamy O’Callaghan, Traralgon
April: Andrew Northover, Traralgon
May: Andrew Day, Bairnsdale
June: Jo O’Doherty, Maffra
July: Lyn Phelps, Longford
August: Jamie Kugelmann, Metung
September: Thomas Stockdale, Traralgon
October: Danuta Sowa, Paynesville
November: Elein Parnall, Yallourn North
December: Heather Provan, Sale

Pin It on Pinterest